World of Warcraft: Dragonflight

by Blizzard Entertainment for Mac OS X

Download Now

Downloaded: 411

Dragon-themed WoW expansion pack

World of Warcraft: Dragonflight is a premium downloadable content (DLC) that overhauls your experience with the role-playing game from Blizzard Entertainment, World of Warcraft. Not only does it rework the very user interface and the talent trees, but it brings the franchise to the Dragon Isles. The primal location is home to the Dracthyr Evokers, a new race and character class that is exclusive to one another.

Aside from purchasing the expansion pack for bonus in-game content, World of Warcraft: Dragonflight also requires an active WoW subscription to play. It follows WoW: Warlords of Draenor, and WoW: Mists of Pandaria.

Discover the Dragon Isles

World of Warcraft: Dragonflight finally brings us to the Dragon Isles, a magical location brimming with magic first mentioned in the 2018 World of Warcraft: Battle for Azeroth. This new location is home to a new playable race, the dragonkin Dracthyr. Additionally, the Evoker class is now available. However, this exclusive arrangement means there are no other classes for the Dracthyr, and no other race can play as the Evoker.

Gameplay-wise, it overhauls the user interface and reworks the talent tree systems, now giving it two tree branches for increased customization for players. Also, the new Dracthyr Evoker comes with alternatives: an offensive Devastation route and support-based Preservation. It also introduces a couple of other features, most notable among them being the ability to ride dragons into battle. Your dragon mount is customizable, and playable even without the level cap.

However, as a DLC for World of Warcraft, Dragonflight has a couple of requirements. First is the need to update your game up to the preceding Shadowlands expansion, although there are no quests required or other in-game requirements. Next, a paid subscription is required to play not only Dragonflight by WoW in general. Also, the expansion adds 10 more levels for players to grind.

The Fractures in Time content update

Dragonflight’s huge Fractures in Time update brings a slew of changes and exciting events. Topping it all off are the Time Rifts, Eon’s Fringe, Kalimdor Cup, and Whelp Daycare events. There is also a new mega-dungeon available to explore, the Dawn of the Infinite; it features eight bosses and permits Mythic-level players only. Besides that, there is a new specialization option for Evokers, named Augmentation.

Furthermore, the Warlock class can now be applied to the following races:

  • Draenei
  • Highmountain Tauren
  • Kul Tiran
  • Lightforged Draenei
  • Mag’har Orcs
  • Night Elves
  • Pandaren
  • Tauren
  • Zandalari Trolls


Tweaks to character and class abilities are implemented, too, aiming for a more balanced gameplay. There are modifications to the art and other visual aspects, too. Plus, fixes to reported bugs are applied.

Enter The Emerald Dream

The next major update for World of Warcraft: Dragonflight, aptly titled Guardians of the Dream, finally adds The Emerald Dream. This legendary place has been referenced in the Warcraft lore for a long time, representing what Azeroth is in its purest form. The release of the new map coincides with The Superbloom event, where adventurers are tasked with helping the Sprucecrown tend to the Emerald Dream world tree. Of course, it comes with a new set of rewards for quests.

Players are also introduced to a lot of new features and content. The Faerie Dragon is now available as a new mount and new faction reward for The Dream Wardens. Blood Elves and Druid players receive new character customization options and a whole new class of unique sets, offering new aesthetics and buffs to those who can complete them. All these will be put to the test as players try the new raid dungeon, Amirdrassil, The Dream’s Hope.

A ‘mechanics over content’ upgrade

While World of Warcraft: Dragonflight may not please all players, it is definitely a must-have in the long-running WoW franchise. It does introduce a new race and class, but they are exclusive to each other. Its highlights, however, focus on the revamped gameplay experience. You’ll most likely keep your character to grind the next 10 levels but you can now do so atop a dragon mount.